Additional non-stop and limited stop services on Expressway 20/X20

New Timetable on Galway-Athlone-Dublin City-Dublin Airport service from Sunday, 29 July 2018

Expressway is pleased to announce the introduction of a new and improved timetable on the Route 20/X20 from Galway-Athlone-Dublin City-Dublin Airport.

The improvements on Expressway Route 20/X20 service will deliver a more direct route from Galway/Loughrea/Ballinasloe and Athlone to Dublin City and Dublin Airport. The new timetable offers increased frequency across the route with value fares and a more direct timetable to cater for the demands of the vast majority of customers using this corridor.

The Expressway X20 offers a non-stop service between Athlone and Dublin City/Dublin Airport and this is now enhanced by an additional 4 services daily, with an additional 5 services daily operating non-stop between Dublin Airport/Dublin City and Athlone.

Service improvements for the Expressway Route 20/X20 include: 

  • An additional 2 services in each direction Monday to Friday
  • An additional 9 limited stop X20 services connecting Galway/Loughrea/Ballinasloe/Athlone & Dublin City
  • An additional 4 non-stop services between Athlone & Dublin City
  • An additional 5 non-stop services between Dublin City & Athlone

Customers travelling to the airport can avoid fuel, parking, and toll costs and instead enjoy extra comfort seats and charging points, with stress free travel and free on-board WiFi. Tickets are available to purchase on board but a 5% discount is applied to online bookings at

“The new Expressway Route 20/X20 is being introduced in response to customer demand for a dedicated high frequency route between Dublin City and Dublin Airport to Athlone and Galway,” said Seán Forde, Expressway Product Manager.

Expressway services are wholly commercial services and receive no State funding, and the new timetable was approved by the National Transport Authority. A new  timetable for the Expressway Route 20/X20, Galway–Athlone–Dublin City–Dublin Airport was approved by the National Transport Authority and will come into effect from Sunday, 29 July 2018.

Wednesday, 25th July, 2018